Minutes of the December ALFCA Board Meeting

January 17, 2018

The Board of Directors of the ALFCA met on a snowy December 8, 2017 at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. Vice President Jere Adcock presided over the meeting due to President Terry Curtis and his UMS Wright team participating in the Super 7 Championship game that morning.

Executive Director Jack Wood welcomed everyone and recognized Brandon Sheppard of USA Football who had been instrumental in helping to secure speakers for the ALFCA Convention in January.

Coach Wood gave the board an update on sponsors. Russell Athletic will honor its contract with the ALFCA in the coming year, even though they are ceasing with team cloth productions. Coach Wood has been exploring options for a new flagship sponsor to replace Russell. He expects to have an announcement for the board at the ALFCA convention in January. He continues to look for other sponsorship possibilities.

In his financial report to the board, Coach Wood declared the association to be on firm financial footing. Sponsorships have been paid up to this point and the association has no outstanding debts.

The ALFCA Convention, set for January 25-27th in Montgomery was discussed. The Coach of the Year banquet is scheduled for Saturday, January 27th at 11:00 AM at the Embassy Suites. Each board member was giving a brochure and Coach Wood said that convention brochures would go out to schools immediately. He went through the speakers and board members volunteered to introduce them.

The board members who serve on the coach of the year committees discussed the coaches that had been nominated for the coach and the assistant coach of the year awards per classification. The board discussed the nominees and then voted on each award.



1A- Pat Thompson-Sweet Water

2A- Eric Johnson- Tarrant

3A- Dustin Goodwin- Plainview

4A- Aubrey Blackwell- Montgomery Catholic

5A- Fred Yancey- Briarwood Christian

6A- Tim Perry- Wetumpka

7A- Tim Carter- Fairhope


1A- Bruce Breland- Victory Christian

2A- Wayne Segall- Lanett

3A- Pat Walker- Piedmont

4A- Gerald Jones- UMS Wright

5A- Matthew Forester-Briarwood Christian

6A- John Turner- Spanish Fort

7A- Patrick Plott- Auburn

Coach Wood and Coach Adcock discussed the Lifetime Achievement Award Winners for this year. He thanked President Terry Curtis and past president Jamie Riggs for their work on this. This year’s Lifetime winners are:

Bob Finley– Before Hoover was Hoover, they were W.A. Berry High School and everyone knew that their coach was Bob Finley. Finley was head coach at Berry for 26 seasons, most of them before the present playoff system.  His team won the 1977 and 1982 state championships, and play in the title game two other times. His overall record was 198-87-5.  Finley led Berry from 1968-1993 and was elected to the AHSAA Hall of Fame in 1992.  A former University of Tennessee player, he passed away suddenly in July of 1994 after cutting the grass on the football field. “He was the coach in the state of Alabama,” said Gerald Gann, who coached alongside Finley at Berry and later against him as the football coach at Homewood, in an AL.com article three years ago.

John Mothershed– Mothershed served as head coach at Deshler High School from 1995-2013.  His teams won the 1998 and 1999 State Championships and reached the Super 7 Finals in 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, and 2010.  Mothershed used a Wing-T offense and a Split 4 defense to accumulate an overall record of 201-53 during his 19 years as head coach for the Tigers. Under his direction, 11 of his Deshler teams won 10 games or more. He served as President of the the AHSADCA in 2004 and on the ALFCA Board of Directors. He will be inducted into the AHSAA Hall of Fame in March.

Jackie O’Neal– Coach O’Neal was a star player for Reeltown High School and Livingston State University before returning to Reeltown as an assistant coach for ten years.  He took over the reigns from Duane Webster in 1988 and coached the Rebels for 28 years before retiring after the 2015 season. He led Reeltown to the state title game five times, winning the championship in 2001 and 2009. O’Neal was an original board member of the ALFCA and served for 10 years.  He was the head coach of the Alabama-Mississippi All Star Game in 2007 and was elected to the AHSAA Hall of Fame in 2012.


Coach Wood discussed the schools that had applied for the Schutt helmet grants. Four grants for 18 helmets each will be awarded.

Board members were encouraged to attend the AFCA convention in Charlotte January 7th-10th. $650 stipend would be provided for those that attend.

Past president Jamie Riggs provided the board with a website update.

The board briefly discussed some football issues dealing with reclassification. They also discussed some possible solutions to the recruiting issue that has the interest of many ALFCA members.

There being no other business, the board adjourned.