ASWA Announces Finalists for Back and Lineman of the Year Awards

January 9, 2018

Here are the finalists for the 2017 Alabama Sports Writers Association Back and Linemen of the Year in each classification.

The 48 finalists were chosen by a panel of prep writers from around the state at the ASWA’s all-state football meeting early this month. They are also finalists for the state’s Mr. Football award, which will be presented at the ASWA’s annual Player of the Year Luncheon in Montgomery on Jan. 17.


Back of the Year
Ahmad Edwards, receiver, Thompson
Justyn Ross, receiver, Central-Phenix City
Taulia Tagovailoa, quarterback, Thompson

Lineman of the Year
Daevion Davis, defensive line, James Clemens
Mohamoud Diabate, defensive line, Auburn
Pierce Quick, offensive line, Hewitt-Trussville


Back of the Year
Asa Martin, running back, Austin
J.D. Martin, athlete, Wetumpka
y-Bo Nix, quarterback, Pinson Valley

Lineman of the Year
x-Marcus Jenkins, offensive line, Park Crossing
Alfred Thomas, defensive line, Sidney Lanier
Clay Webb, offensive line, Oxford


Back of the Year
Swift Lyle, quarterback, St. Paul’s
J.R. Tran-Reno, athlete, Briarwood Chr.
w-La’Damian Webb, running back, Beauregard

Lineman of the Year
Malik Langham, defensive line, Lee-Huntsville
Gabriel Russell, linebacker, Briarwood Chr.
Kameron Stutts, offensive line, Brooks


Back of the Year
Tucker Brown, quarterback, Wilson
Darius Nalls, receiver, Fayette Co.
Symon Smith, running back, UMS-Wright

Lineman of the Year
Russ Myers, linebacker, UMS-Wright
x-Riley Russell, linebacker, Cherokee Co.
Caleb Storie, linebacker, Rogers


Back of the Year
Austin Kinsey, running back, Clarke Co.
Cole Littleton, receiver, J.B. Pennington
Cardavion Myers, athete, Piedmont

Lineman of the Year
x-Logan Beadles, defensive line, Piedmont
Andres Fox, defensive line, Mobile Chr.
Ja’len Sims, linebacker, Fultondale


Back of the Year
Payton Anderson, running back, Fyffe
Jermaine Brown, athlete, St. Luke’s
Terrion Truitt, athlete, Lanett

Lineman of the Year
Parker Branch, linebacker, Horseshoe Bend
Baraskious Dowdell, defensive line, Lanett
John Karr, offensive line, Leroy


Back of the Year
Shamar Lewis, athlete, Sweet Water
Elliott Petty, receiver, Pickens Co.
Nathaniel Watson, athlete, Maplesville

Lineman of the Year
Timothy Bradley, linebacker, Maplesville
Lecedric Haynes, defensive line, Georgiana
x-Devin March, defensive line, Houston Co.